The distinction of “pretending” needs to be in the title because let’s be real; unless I’m going to be making bank in the near future, I’m perfectly content in my three-floor walk-up in Rogers Park, janky stove and creaky floors included…, but I digress.

If you are not aware of the Chicago Architectural Foundation, I highly recommend you look them up because every October, they sponsor and organize an awesome festival that gives behind-the-scenes access to members of the foundation, along with the plebeian non-members such as myself, to over 200 locations in the Chicagoland area. I’ve only been to Open House Chicago once, two years ago, but it was an amazing time- for both architecture aficionados, Chicago history-lovers and photographers alike!

And plus, as aforementioned, it gives you the great opportunity to pretend you’re some bougie person on House Hunters who can actually afford some of these lavish lifestyles, so much so that you simply cannot choose a home because the three bathrooms is three too few.

A special shout out to Donny, who was kind enough to accompany me on my quest and deal with me for an extended period of time. He’s the best. After we visited the penthouse and rooftop patio of the MILA Luxury Apartments (goals), the Marquee apartments and common spaces at Block37 (honestly, such cool rooms), and the ballroom of the School of the Art Institute (why doesn’t Loyola have a ballroom?); we had dinner at Shake Shack and I’ll give it to Donny, despite being a Portillo’s fan myself, they make some pretty good cheese fries.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy the photos!

_dsc1690 _dsc1704 _dsc1747 _dsc1744 _dsc1717 _dsc1736 _dsc1714 _dsc0030 _dsc0026 _dsc0006 _dsc1734 _dsc0038 _dsc0048 _dsc0053

Check out more of my photos on my Instagram and follow my new hashtag, #photowysocki to see my latest photographic endeavors!  🙂

Leave a Reply

